International Organization For the Study of

Inflammatory Bowel Disease


IOIBD is dedicated to share science and clinical practice related to IBD


Learn more about the organisational structure of IOIBD


Apply for IOIBD Grants to a maximum of € 50,000

Our Mission is:

to promote the health of people with IBD worldwide by setting the direction
for patient care, education and research

International Organization for the
study of Inflammatory Bowel Disease

The International Organization for the Study of Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IOIBD) is the only international worldwide organization devoted to these chronic and sometimes disabling diseases involving different parts of the gastrointestinal tract.

The mission of the IOIBD is to promote the health of people with IBD worldwide by setting the direction for patient care, education and research. This is in particular the case for those countries where the diseases are just evolving. Task forces of IOIBD promote scientific developments by designing non commercial clinical studies. Grants are provided for innovative start-up projects and large scale trials not receiving funds otherwise due to lack of economic or political interest.

Travel grants are given to young scientists from countries with evolving IBD. The organization furthermore aims at developing clear definitions of the different manifestations of IBD as well as for the targets and endpoints of treatment in practice and research, in particular in clinical trials.

The long-term goal of IOIBD is to contribute to the elucidation of the cause of these still relatively new diseases and finally to the development of a causal and curative treatment, thereby making its existence unnecessary.

Latest News

IOIBD New Member Profile out now!

Our newly appointed Nominating Committee chaired by Maria Abreu, with members Axel Dignass, Uma Mahadevan and Willem Bemelman, has started off in April this year.   Their first assignment has...

read more

IOIBD Partners


Learn more about the organisational structure of IOIBD

Executive Committee

  • Maria Abreu
    (Chair 2019-2022)
  • Iris Dotan
    (Deputy Chair 2019-2022)
  • Laurent Peyrin-Biroulet
    (Scientific Secretary 2020-2023)
  • Marla Dubinsky (Deputy Scientific Secretary 2020-2023)
  • Jonas Halfvarson
    (Treasurer 2017-2023)
  • Richard Gearry
    (Member at large 2020-2024)
  • Corey Siegel
    (Member at large 2019-2023)
  • Matthieu Allez
    (Organiser 2020 AGM)
  • Geert D’Haens
    (Outgoing chair 2019-2022)

Board of Foundation

  • Geert D’Haens
    (Outgoing Chair for 3 years)
  • Maria Abreu
    (Current Chair)
  • Laurent Peyrin-Biroulet
    (Current Scientific Secretary)
  • Jonas Halfvarson
    (Current Treasurer)

Nominating Committee

  • Geert D’Haens (Chair)
  • David Rubin
  • Charles Bernstein

Publication Committee

  • Corey Siegel (Chair)
  • Anne Griffiths
  • Gilaad Kaplan
  • James Lewis
  • Gerasimos Mantzaris
  • Jürgen Schölmerich

Grants Review Committee

  • James Lewis (Chair)
  • Yehuda Chowers
  • Mark Silverberg
  • Severine Vermeire

Cluster chairs

  • Globalization: Richard Gearry, Gil Kaplan
  • PRO: Edouard Louis, Corey Siegel
  • Endpoints: Dan Turner, Axel Dignass
  • Integration: Dermot McGovern, Subrata Ghosh
  • Nutrition: James Lewis, Arie Levine

Our History

The International Organisation for the Study of Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IOIBD) was formally constituted at a meeting held in Lyon in April 1981 which was hosted by Professor Louis Descos and Dr Claude Andre. A number of events had led up to this occasion. There had been an international IBD Workshop held in Cape Town in 1979, hosted by Professor Solly Marks and Dr John Wright, and then in June 1980 Professor Salvador Pena together with Professor Sir Christopher Booth and Dr Warren Strober organised another meeting near Leiden in Holland. One of the topical points for discussion was how to assess disease activity in patients with Crohn’s disease. This interest had been generated by the development and validation of the Crohn’s Disease Activity Index by the National Cooperative Crohn’s Disease Study Group in North America led by Dr John Singleton and Dr Bill Best. For the first time, this tool allowed a reliable way of providing a standardised way of assessing disease activity and made possible multicentre therapeutic trials in Crohn’s disease. 

The work of Dr. Sidney Truelove in the 1960s radically changed our vision of ulcerative colitis and what later was to be called “Inflammatory Bowel Disease”.

We must also remember that it was Dr. Truelove’s meticulous and well-designed clinical studies that showed, among other things, the utility of glucocorticoids in those suffering from acute ulcerative colitis — a treatment plan that has been unaltered since then.


IOIBD Scientific Secretariat

Marischka Konings

Call Us

+31 35 5426745

Email Us

Our Location

Javalaan 9a
3742 CN Baarn
The Netherlands